Die Trommel Fatale

by Brandon Seabrook

supported by
  • Pre-order of Die Trommel Fatale. The moment the album is released you'll get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    releases June 15, 2017

     $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD)

    Art direction + design by The Designers Republic- this is the way to own this record in the domain of the physical. Buy direct, accrue karma.

    Includes digital pre-order of Die Trommel Fatale. The moment the album is released you'll get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    digital album releases June 15, 2017
    item ships out on or around June 14, 2017

     $10 USD or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 47 New Atlantis Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 85%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Die Trommel Fatale, Espiritu Zombi, Suburban Bars / Golden Square, Chemical Language, Days to be Told, Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame, The Conjuring, Plane Crash 2, and 39 more. , and , .

     $49.95 USD or more (85% OFF)


Clangorous Vistas
Emotional Cleavage
Abcessed Pettifogger
Shamans Never R.S.V.P.
Litany of Turncoats
The Greatest Bile Pt. 1
The Greatest Bile Pt. 2
Quickstep Grotesquerie
Beautiful Flowers


For its 50th release, New Atlantis Records is proud to present guitar wizard Brandon Seabrook's pre-apocalyptic new large ensemble recording, Die Trommel Fatale. Written over a 12-month period of transcendent, guitar-driven introspection inspired by the Peruvian jungle, Seabrook's compositions ply a dynamic harvest of string drones and wraithlike vocals, conjuring ancient shamanic vistas, eviscerating the listener with a clangorous array of aural spasms.

Conceived as a polyrhythmic exploration of the occult nature of the drum, Die Trommel Fatale augments dichotomous drummers with layers of cello, bass, electronics, voice and guitar. By dispensing with cymbals, the unit highlights the primal propulsion of the drums, contrasting the body and resonance of the dual kits with dizzying, knottily-complex ensemble passages and levitational solo experimentations. Vast textural expanses manifest from the bone-shaking collision of drums, strings, electronics, and guttural shrieks. The resulting ten tracks are a celebration of the serene and abhorrent, a sorceric phenomenon of wood steel and flesh.

With Sylphid Vitalizers, Brandon Seabrook's 2014 solo debut for New Atlantis, Brandon conjured "dissonant guitar army textures and explosions and mind-blowing prog-rock complexities—all at mind-numbing breakneck speed" (Vice), layering "a mind-altering wall of ecstatic riffage and textures backed by the head hammering death blows of a vintage drum machine" (Spin). By overdubbing bowed guitars, banjo, and electric guitar, the work marked a new level of orchestralesque dissonant guitar work, advancing exponentially the efforts of Branca, Chatham, or Sonic Youth with "instrumental dexterity equalled by mental rigor" (Free Jazz Blog), generating a tension which "resembles that of string ensembles stretched to the absolute snapping point" (Tiny Mix Tapes).

In the context of his previous work, Die Trommel Fatale finds Seabrook bringing his singular compositional and instrumental vernacular and his fetish for electronic timbres and stagger-stepped rhythms to bear on a group of wildly capable players who augment rather than dilute his vision and dissonant charisma. Marika Hughes (cello), Chuck Bettis (vocals/electronics), Eivind Opsvik (bass), and drummers Sam Ospovat and Dave Treut represent a fantastic new alignment in dissonance and resonance, realizing a group sound in total congruency with Seabrook's manically progressive vision.

With art direction and graphic design by legends The Designers Republic (Autechre, Aphex Twin), the CD is packaged in a beautiful, custom-designed eco-wallet.

Own your copy direct from New Atlantis Records on June 16, 2017.


releases June 15, 2017

Brandon Seabrook: Guitar
Sam Ospovat: Drums
Dave Treut: Drums
Chuck Bettis: Throat/Electronics
Marika Hughes: Cello
Eivind Opsvik: Bass

Recorded/Mixed/Mastered by Colin Marston @ Menegroth The Thousand Caves



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist


New Atlantis Records Yellow Springs, Ohio

New Atlantis Records is an independent record label documenting exceptional creative music, from avant jazz and free improvisation to vanguard rock music, and beyond. The ever-blossoming catalog features contributions from Elliott Sharp, William Hooker, Microwaves, Paul Dunmall, Blind Thorns, Dave McDonnell Group, Thollem McDonas + Sara Lund (Unwound), Hyrrokkin, Haitian Rail, Keir Neuringer, etc ... more

contact / help

Contact New Atlantis Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code